VPN PROXY MASTER

Why should you delete Third-party cookies?

2020/09/24

Do you notice that whenever you visit a website, there will be cookie banners pop up immediately in front of your web browser? Most of the time we simply just click ‘accept’ and continue to scroll the other pages. So, what exactly are cookies?

Cookies are files created by websites you visit. The purpose of a cookie is to gives users an easier online experience by saving their browsing information. In short, websites installed with cookies can keep you signed in, remember your site preferences, and give you locally relevant content. Hence, most websites will install cookies because it is a way of developing a profile for a person. How does it work?

The cookies simply will keep track of each time a user visits a site, which includes what’s the users are searching for, and capturing their purchase behaviour and individual preferences. In results, it provides clear information of a person’s online activity on the site they visited.

Well, have you realised your privacy has been exposed at this stage? Well, there are two types of cookies:

• First-party cookies are created by the site you visit. The site is shown in the address bar.
• Third-party cookies are created by other sites. These sites own some of the content, like ads or images, that you see on the webpage you visit.

Yes, you’re right! The scariest part is the third-party cookies whereby it contains most of your personal profiling. Those data are easily stored, transfer, or sell to third-party companies for marketing advertising purposes. Here are the reasons why you should consider deleting cookies on your browser regularly:

Security Threat

Hackers can hack your network; they can also hijack your browsing cookies too. In such a way, this allows them to easily access your browser session and capture from personal information from there.

Your personal information is Stored
The main purpose of having cookies attached to your browser is because it helps you to remember the sites you have visit as well as purchases you make. Likewise, this hidden process allows the websites to track you to develop a more detailed profile of your online habits or to target you with further marketing advertising. One good example: Think of Google; how Google tracks your interest and prompts you with your favourite ads.

Slow your system down

While browsing through your favourite websites, all the pages you visit will be stored onto your hard-drive. Subsequent visits, the web pages will load even faster because your data are captured during your last visit to the websites. However, over time you may accumulate a lot of cookies and this will in turn slow your system down.

What will happen if you clear all cookies on your browser?

If you remove cookies, you’ll be signed out of websites and your saved preferences could be deleted.
On your computer, open Chrome.

  • At the top right, click More More and then Settings.
  • Under “Privacy and security,” click Cookies and other site data.
  • Click See all cookies and site data and then Remove all.
  • Confirm by clicking Clear all.